Climate Of Fear


Sometimes we can get caught up in the moment before we fully realize what our driving force is. We each

Do I want fear to be the mark of my life?
Do I want fear to be the mark of my life?

have to deal with the predispositions of our own minds, personalities and other factors behind our personal, financial, educational and religious decisions. Sometimes we get sucked into the minutia of the platitudes of social media, radio or television; or sometimes it is our social groups that carry us off downstream. Then we are off to the races in our thoughts words and actions. How can we tell if fear is the driving force behind our inspiration to think, speak and act?

The following questions, as in the meditation preceding this one in this Enlightenment Ministries blog, are written in the first person, drawing us in to a more personal revelation of the impetus that moves us.

Do I recognize fear in any aspect of my life?

Am I adversely affected by the current news of the day?

What is my primary motivating force?

What is my secondary motivating force?

Do I base my decisions on things I want to think?

Do I base my decisions on things I want to say?

Do I base my decisions on things I want to do?

Is another person deciding the important decisions that belong to me alone, in what I think, say or do?

Is another institution, employment or religion usurping my decisions?

Am I freely giving my control over my thoughts, words and actions to another in any way?

Am I at the mercy of someone else’s permission?

Is there a penalty to be paid by me if I do not follow someone else’s directions?

Have I freely chosen to be under someone else’s authority?

Do I feel like I am living on my own personal, emotional roll-a-coaster?

Who is in charge of me?

Have I given my personal power away to my work, home life or religious institution?

Do I say what I want to say?

Do I say what others want to hear?

What do I want to do?

Am I a people pleaser?

Do I avoid conflict at all cost?

Is my life an oblation to others?

Do I feel I am being true to who I am?

Who am I?

Why am I here?

If I were at the beginning of my life, would I choose to be where I am now?

What is stopping me from living the life I feel I am meant to live, if anything?

In my spiritual journey, have I handed over my unique and God-given mind, body and soul over to any other person, place or thing, as a way of progressing forward in my personal relationship with God?

Do I need others permission to live?

If I do not need other’s permission to live, do I act as if I do?

Do I find myself in a subservient role, obeying other adults?

In my personal relationship with God, is it a relationship of love, or fear?

Do I believe I can be, or am forgiven for things I have confessed to God?

Do I approach God in reverence and awe?

Do I approach God in fear?

Is my life in God manifested in fear or faith?

To me, is fear and faith the same attribute?

This post is an opportunity to reflect, like a mirror reflecting back to us, the deeper things of the heart, and what makes us tick. It is good from time to time, to reassess, and realign if necessary, so that we are living the most pure, authentic life, not out of fear, but out of love.

Author: lindahourihan

My profile picture is a rose, symbolizing that we should all bloom where we are planted. I am planted in the garden of words of knowledge and inspiration, history and truth, quest and discovery. My latest book, MYSTERY OF THE STURBRIDGE KEYS - CHRISTMAS UNLOCKED, has uncovered the deepest mysteries of modern time, mysteries that were planted at the start of time. The theme in this book is: There is one race, the human race. It unveils the secrets of Christmas, Santa Claus, the Magi, Jesus and how Noah's sons repopulate the world through the empires. In the process you meet Abraham Lincoln, Charles Darwin, Charles Dickens, Harriet Tubman, and learn that former Presidents Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama are eighth cousins, both with traces of English royalty through William the Conqueror and Charlemagne in their bloodlines. This book uses real history, ancient and pre-history in this dramatic, plausible fiction/fantasy novel. It took me over a year to research and a lifetime to experience.