Peace Is Not Something Outside Us. Peace Is Something Inside Us


Have you ever walked around the house looking for your glasses, only to find you were wearing them?Peace is inside us Sometimes we do a similar thing when we go way out of our way looking outside of ourselves to find peace. We think:

– if my work were not so demanding, I would have peace

– if I had a normal life, I would have peace

– if I had more money, I would have peace

– if I had more material goods, I would have peace

– if I had better health, I would have peace

– if I lived in another country, I would have peace

– if I had a different home life, I would have peace

– if I had more education, I would have peace

– if I had more free time, I would have peace

– if I had other circumstances, I would have more peace.

– if, if, if …

If you do not go within, you go without.

Thank about that last statement for a minute. How many of us:

– turn into workaholics, trying to get it all done, so that we can finally rest?

– drown out conflict with self imposed chaos?

– draw attention away from others by creating our own drama?

– complain about others driving/habits/quirks when we ourselves have the very same ones?

– have a habit of consistently getting into dysfunctional relationships/habits/addictions?

– go on addictive spending sprees in an effort to find peace in purchases?

– eat our meals like a shark in a feeding frenzy?

– use food to comfort our soul?

– act out in dangerous behaviors or addictions to soothe the savage beast inside ourselves?

– insist on filling every waking moment with any activity to avoid the deafening silence in our days?

Before you can find peace outside of ourselves, we must find peace within our hearts and minds. My rule of thumb is, (and I haven’t read this anywhere else), the key to peace is praise and thanksgiving. Praise and thank the One who made you. Praise and be thankful for the life you have. Praise and be thankful for the goodness that you do have. Praise and be thankful for every moment you get to have in this life.

Author: lindahourihan

My profile picture is a rose, symbolizing that we should all bloom where we are planted. I am planted in the garden of words of knowledge and inspiration, history and truth, quest and discovery. My latest book, MYSTERY OF THE STURBRIDGE KEYS - CHRISTMAS UNLOCKED, has uncovered the deepest mysteries of modern time, mysteries that were planted at the start of time. The theme in this book is: There is one race, the human race. It unveils the secrets of Christmas, Santa Claus, the Magi, Jesus and how Noah's sons repopulate the world through the empires. In the process you meet Abraham Lincoln, Charles Darwin, Charles Dickens, Harriet Tubman, and learn that former Presidents Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama are eighth cousins, both with traces of English royalty through William the Conqueror and Charlemagne in their bloodlines. This book uses real history, ancient and pre-history in this dramatic, plausible fiction/fantasy novel. It took me over a year to research and a lifetime to experience.