Do You Own Things Or Do They Own You?


First we buy things. We buy them because we need, want, must have our house, furniture, clothes, cars, vacations, and50-things-money-cant-buy everything else in our lives. We acquire these things, usually with much consideration, forethought, careful financial planning; or not. Even when we try not to keep buying things, we still do. Have you ever asked yourself, do I own my things, or do they own me?

Am I a compulsive spender?

What void do spending sprees fill in me?

Have I ever thought of this before?

Have others told me this is a problem?

What can I throw away?

When was the last time I cleaned out things that no longer serve me?

Have I ever considered the possibility that the accumulation of things steals peace and creates chaos?

Have I ever entertained the idea of getting a dumpster to toss out everything that is needlessly taking up space in my house, cellar, attic, yard, or closet?

Have I felt good, with a sense of feeling “lighter” after a big cleaning project?

Can I donate my clothes to a charity, friends and family, or the homeless?

How many pairs of shirts, pants, dresses, suits, and clothes do I really need?

Have I considered repairing items as opposed to buying new items each time?

Have I ever thought of checking out the thrift stores first, before purchasing brand new items?

Am I a product of peer pressure in action, caring about what others think, do and say about my prestige, status, and outward appearance in every area of my life, from the house I live in to the clothes I wear and food I eat?

How much does it matter to me to go out on weekends, eat certain foods, go out drinking with friends and having parties?

How responsible am I in taking care of the things I buy?

Do I keep things in good working order, clean them, repair them, or replace them properly?

How much time to my things take up in my life, each day?

Have I ever tried to live with less than I have?

Have I crossed the line, starting out with me owning my things, then go to the other extreme, with my things: house, car, lifestyle, hobbies, work, owning me?

Do I ever regret a purchase after I have made it?

Do I get a “high” or “rush” of endorphins when I make a purchase?

Do I over-spend when I make purchases?

Do I go into a store with a list of exactly what I want?

Do I set a limit on how much I can spend?

Do I not care about how much I spend on things?

Why?

Do I have an emotional connection to money?

Do I get my self worth based on how much money I have?

Do I get my self worth based on how much money I do not have?

Money is merely a form of energy. Things in our life are only good if they help us more than they hurt us, or rob us of peace.

Have I ever tried to live without credit cards?

Have I considered the possibility that if I have credit cards with balances that keep increasing that I am over-spending?

What would my life be like if I paid cash for everything?

Do I have a savings account?

Am I responsible with money?

What can I do to get better at living within my means?

What expenses can I cut down on, or out altogether?

Am I at peace?

What is my plan?

Author: lindahourihan

My profile picture is a rose, symbolizing that we should all bloom where we are planted. I am planted in the garden of words of knowledge and inspiration, history and truth, quest and discovery. My latest book, MYSTERY OF THE STURBRIDGE KEYS - CHRISTMAS UNLOCKED, has uncovered the deepest mysteries of modern time, mysteries that were planted at the start of time. The theme in this book is: There is one race, the human race. It unveils the secrets of Christmas, Santa Claus, the Magi, Jesus and how Noah's sons repopulate the world through the empires. In the process you meet Abraham Lincoln, Charles Darwin, Charles Dickens, Harriet Tubman, and learn that former Presidents Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama are eighth cousins, both with traces of English royalty through William the Conqueror and Charlemagne in their bloodlines. This book uses real history, ancient and pre-history in this dramatic, plausible fiction/fantasy novel. It took me over a year to research and a lifetime to experience.

2 thoughts on “Do You Own Things Or Do They Own You?”

  1. Thanks for your comments Jack. I think ideas are gifts. They are there for us to use, or not. I like the free will part of us, which means we are not a slave to either. Have a nice day!

  2. A question I wonder along these same lines is, do I own ideas or do ideas own me? Meaning, are ideas tools to be used or, are they authorities to follow?

Comments are closed.