Illegal Immigrants ~ Really? ~ You’d Be Surprized


The note on Woodie Guthrie’s guitar notes that his music kills fascist ideas, stringent socioeconomic controls, suppression of the opposition through terror and censorship, and typically a policy of belligerent nationalism and racism.

Let’s see, who are really illegal immigrants in the USA? Who are the people we count as illegal aliens? Who counts as legal residents of the USA? How far back should we look, to the

Just 249 years ago, most of the central and southwestern USA was Spanish/Mexican.
Native American Indians? Well, no, we should not go back that far because we would all be illegal aliens. Looking back at the history of the United States of America it is easy to see why the USA border with Mexico is such a hot spot.

Spanish/Mexican land greatly exceeds the land mass of the 13 colonies in 1763.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shall we count the Spanish/Mexican people who lived here in 1763, prior to all our wars with them? Shall we include those people in the land before we arrived in all the conquests and purchases? When you think of it this way, who are really the aliens?

There has got to be a better way for people of conscience, to resolve our current immigration dilemmas, that do not include a gun to someone’s back or face, and deportation to this

Maps of the USA from 1776-1866, just 146 years ago.
nations’ children who are in this land of “freedom” trying to make a better life for themselves and their families.We can be so short-sighted. For Americans living here now legally, it was not that long ago, not even 200 years ago, when our very own grandparents and their grandparents were immigrants to this country.The scarcity mentality has infiltrated the minds and greedy hearts of a few of those among us. We need to broaden our horizons and find creative solutions that do not include the destruction of human integrity, that place all non-American people in the same category as drug lords.We need to address crime issues, but often it is the illegal immigrant who is the victim of the crime, not the perpetrator.

 

 

 

Here are the words of “This Land Is Your Land,” by Woodie Guthrie:

THIS LAND IS YOUR LAND

words and music by Woody Guthrie

Chorus:

This land is your land, this land is my land

From California, to the New York Island

From the redwood forest, to the gulf stream waters

This land was made for you and me

As I was walking a ribbon of highway

I saw above me an endless skyway

I saw below me a golden valley

This land was made for you and me

Chorus

I’ve roamed and rambled and I’ve followed my footsteps

To the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts

And all around me a voice was sounding

This land was made for you and me

Chorus

The sun comes shining as I was strolling

The wheat fields waving and the dust clouds rolling

The fog was lifting a voice come chanting

This land was made for you and me

Chorus

As I was walkin’ – I saw a sign there

And that sign said – no tress passin’

But on the other side …. it didn’t say nothin!

Now that side was made for you and me!

Chorus

In the squares of the city – In the shadow of the steeple

Near the relief office – I see my people

And some are grumblin’ and some are wonderin’

If this land’s still made for you and me.

Chorus (2x)

©1956 (renewed 1984), 1958 (renewed 1986) and 1970 TRO-Ludlow Music, Inc. (

BMI)

Author: lindahourihan

My profile picture is a rose, symbolizing that we should all bloom where we are planted. I am planted in the garden of words of knowledge and inspiration, history and truth, quest and discovery. My latest book, MYSTERY OF THE STURBRIDGE KEYS - CHRISTMAS UNLOCKED, has uncovered the deepest mysteries of modern time, mysteries that were planted at the start of time. The theme in this book is: There is one race, the human race. It unveils the secrets of Christmas, Santa Claus, the Magi, Jesus and how Noah's sons repopulate the world through the empires. In the process you meet Abraham Lincoln, Charles Darwin, Charles Dickens, Harriet Tubman, and learn that former Presidents Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama are eighth cousins, both with traces of English royalty through William the Conqueror and Charlemagne in their bloodlines. This book uses real history, ancient and pre-history in this dramatic, plausible fiction/fantasy novel. It took me over a year to research and a lifetime to experience.