Just When You Think You Know Something


I remember being very young and thinking, “I can’t wait until I’m in my twenties, then I’ll know all the answers.” I remember thinking that.

Sharing what you have with others is the answer.

Well, I got older and older, but I kept having more and more questions. I got to my twenties, but that didn’t help. There was still more to discover.I began studying theology, from the inside out, trying them all on first-hand. That didn’t help either. I found religions say they have all the answers. Some even have memorized answers for those common questions, but they still did not get to the bottom of it. In some ways I think I’m perpetually three years old, “Why? Why? Why?”The things of God seemed like such a sure thing. There was one. He lived in His place in Heaven. What’s the problem?

I see the things of science in much the same way. We are given these facts by our scientific minds. But then the facts change, like the world really isn’t flat, morning air really doesn’t cause malaria, and the shortest distance between two points isn’t always a straight line. Just when you think you know something, it changes. Well, not everything.

I took this picture of a beautiful little boy, who was obviously sharing something that was very important to him. If you look at his eyes, he is not looking at his ice cream. He is looking at his friend, the puppy. He wasn’t old enough to go without his pacifier, but he was old enough to know you take care of your friends. You share what you have with others when you can. This was not a posed picture. I was standing in an ice cream line in Clearwater, Florida, on a boardwalk somewhere, when I saw him put his little puppy up to his ice cream cup before he took his first bite.

This is a decent human being at such a tender age.

It is a good lesson for all of us. We all have our very own, unique gifts we can share in our world of friends, family, co-workers and society at large. We are the only ones who have our very own personality, or can touch the lives of those around in our own way. Maybe we are not all called to be in the public eye, or be teachers, or join the peace corps. But we can bloom where we are planted, and share what we have.

The only constant thing in life is change, even those things we once thought were firm and immovable. Some of us do not like change, especally like when we are in the middle of this game of life, and somehow the rules change. The stock market changes, our employment changes, our marital status changes. All living things change, from religion to science, to all of us personally.

We can share what we have for the betterment of all. We do not have to wait until we have all the answers, because we will never have ALL the answers. We just need to remember to be decent human beings along the way.

Namaste

Author: lindahourihan

My profile picture is a rose, symbolizing that we should all bloom where we are planted. I am planted in the garden of words of knowledge and inspiration, history and truth, quest and discovery. My latest book, MYSTERY OF THE STURBRIDGE KEYS - CHRISTMAS UNLOCKED, has uncovered the deepest mysteries of modern time, mysteries that were planted at the start of time. The theme in this book is: There is one race, the human race. It unveils the secrets of Christmas, Santa Claus, the Magi, Jesus and how Noah's sons repopulate the world through the empires. In the process you meet Abraham Lincoln, Charles Darwin, Charles Dickens, Harriet Tubman, and learn that former Presidents Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama are eighth cousins, both with traces of English royalty through William the Conqueror and Charlemagne in their bloodlines. This book uses real history, ancient and pre-history in this dramatic, plausible fiction/fantasy novel. It took me over a year to research and a lifetime to experience.